Link to home

​Excellence in Extension Award

This award recognizes an APS member for excellence in extension plant pathology. Nominees will be individuals who have made outstanding contributions by creating, developing, or implementing extension-related programs or materials or who have provided significant leadership in an area of extension plant pathology. Supporting information could include descriptions of significant clientele educational programs; development of information transfer materials, such as bulletins, fact sheets, books, newspaper and magazine articles, computer software and networks, video tapes, radio and television programs, and interactive video conferences; and evidence of leadership in local, regional, or national extension programs or professional organizations. Specific examples of the creativity and impact of the nominee’s programs should be emphasized. Information on research, teaching, public policy education, and other activities supportive of extension should be included in the nomination.

Fellows are not eligible to be nominated for excellence awards except when the new nominations are for accomplishments different from that on which the Fellow nomination was based, and the new accomplishment has occurred after recognition as a Fellow.

View Guidelines and Submit Nomination​


1989 W. R. Stevenson
1990 J. M. Amador
1991 M. C. Shurtleff
1992 H. R. Dillard
1993 T. A. Kucharek
1994 P. M. Phipps
1995 H. F. Schwartz
1996 J. Watkins
1997 M. L. Gleason
1998 W.D. Gubler
1999 G. Tylka
2000 M. Ellis

2001 P. Lipps
2002 T. Zitter
2003 E. Brown
2004 J. Travis
2005 M. Putnam
2006 M. McMullen
2007 D. Hershman
2008 M. Hausbeck
2009 A. Dorrance
2010 G. G. Grove
2011 G. A. Chastagner
2012 G. E. Ruhl

2013 S. T. Koike
2014 M.F.R. Khan
2015 G. Schnabel
2016 D. Langston
2017 F. J. Louws
2018 A. J. Gevens
2019 B. ​Gugino​
2020 B. Shew​
2021 A. Martinez-Espinoza​
2022 Daren Mueller​​ 
2023 Jay Pscheidt​

​*Please note that all bios linked from this page were published at the time of​ the received award and may not be current​.​