Link to home

APS Foundation​ Awardees​

Congratulations to our members who received funding support from the APS Foundation​​ in ​2024!

​Thank you to our donors who made these funding opportunities possible through their generous donations to the APS Foundation. 

​​Previous Foundation Recipients​​​​​Support and donate to the APS Foundation​ ​

Books for the World

Helps scientists, educators, extension personnel, and other agriculturalists in developing countries acquire educational materials from APS PRESS. 

  • Sunusi Yunusa
  • Francis Anti Amoako
  • Diana Alexandra Ramirez Segovia
  • Muhammad Irfan
  • Ilse Alejandra Huerta Arredondo
  • Olayiwola Faith Toluwanimi

French-Monar Latin American Travel Fund

Provides financial support to an APS Student or Early Career Member to attend the 2024 APS Caribbean Division Meeting.

  • Andrea Muñoz-Ramirez, University of Puerto Rico

Foundation General Fund​

  • Samodya Jayasinghe, Washington State University

Global Experience Program​

This fund provides support to APS members working with scientists and extension personnel in developing countries in training and outreach efforts. ​

  • Charles Krasno, The Volcani Institute, for a workshop on Accurate Identification of Vegetable Diseases and Improved Plant Health in Kazakhstan
  • Soumaila Sanogo, New Mexico State University, for a workshop on Diagnosing Plant Diseases and Their Management in Bataan, Philippines

John & Ann Niederhauser Endowment (JANE) International Cooperation Research Fund​

Supports international cooperation related to research on and management of plant diseases between a person or institution in the U.S. and a person or institution outside the U.S. with funding priority to developing economy countries. ​

  • Alfredo Diaz-Lara, Tecnologico de Monterrey, Mexico

Plant Pathology Experiential Program

The APS Office of Private Sector Relations (OPSR), with support from APS Foundation, sponsors two Plant Pathology Experiential grants to promote career and research de​​velopment experience and opportunities​ with organizations classified within industry and/or government. 

  • Megan Buland, University of Kentucky

  • Department of Plant Pathology & Crop Physiology (PPCP), Louisiana State University 

Raymond J. Tarleton Student Fellowship

This fund provides support to plant pathology graduate students for expenses related to their research, equipment, education, and skills development.

  • Dhirendra Niroula, Montana State University

Steven C. Nelson Early Career Development Fellowship​

Fellowship​​ provides support of activities that enhance the educational and professional development of APS members how are either MS and PhD students and postdoctoral scholars ​in plant pathology.​​​

  • ​Ashley C. Nelson​, North Dakota State University

Plant Health 2024 Symposia for APS Student and Early Career Members

I.E. Melhus Graduate Student Symposium

This fund supports up to five APS Graduate Student members to present at the Melhus student symposium at Plant Health 2024​.

  • Vinicius Castelli Garnica, North Carolina State University
  • Kathleen Kanaley, Cornell University
  • Isabella Magna Yannuzzi, Cornell University
  • Brenden Lane, Purdue University
  • Jacobo Robledo Buritica, University of Florida

Schroth Faces of the Future Symposium 

This fund supports four APS Early Career members to present in a specific area of plant pathology research in the "Faces of the Future" symposium held at Plant Health 2024.

  • Morgan Carter, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • Katherine D'Amico-Willman, North Carolina State University 
  • Mustafa Jibrin, Oklahoma State University 
  • Tiffany Lowe-Power, University of California, Davis

Travel Funds to Plant Health 2024

Student Travel Funds 
These funds support 30 APS Student Members who are presenting to attend Plant Health 2024.

  1. Vitor A. S. Moura, University of Florida
  2. Shivranjani Baruah, Cornell University
  3. Theodora Borland, Oregon State University
  4. Carlton Collins, University of Georgia​
  5. Ernesto Da Silva, Louisiana State University
  6. Shilu Dahal, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  7. Alexi Dong, University of Georgia
  8. Juliana Gonzalez-Tobon, Cornell University
  9. Madeline Henrickson, University of Delaware
  10. Jonathan Henson, University of Georgia
  11. Alexandra Hernandez, Michigan State University
  12. Kaveh Javanshirjavid, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale
  13. Toi Ketehouli, University of Florida
  14. Xin Zhi Khoo, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  15. BeKa Leuschen-Kohl, Purdue University
  16. Lily Lofton, USDA-ARS Toxicology and Mycotoxin Research Unit
  17. Harrison Miles, Virginia Tech University
  18. Emma Nelson, Cornell University
  19. Jonas Padilla, Louisiana State University
  20. Roshni Panwala, University of Florida
  21. Natalia Piñeros-Guerrero, Cornell University
  22. Stephanie Ramos, Louisiana State University
  23. Kensy Rodriguez-Herrera, Cornell University
  24. Sophia Schmidt, Iowa State University
  25. Pratibha Sharma, Cornell University
  26. Pratima Subedi, Tennessee State University
  27. Colin Todd, University of California, Riverside
  28. Noah Totsline, North Carolina State University
  29. Molly Veregge, University of Minnesota
  30. Hsuan Fu Wang, University of Minnesota

The Indian P​hytopathology​​ Society Student Travel Fund​

​This fund encourages plant pathology students residing in India, who are members of The Indian Phytopathology Society, to attend the APS Annual Meeting or other APS sanctioned meeting if deemed appropriate by IPS and APS Foundation Board.​

  • Irtifa Lateef, SKUAST-Kashmir, India

International Travel Fund

The Office of International Program International Travel fund provides financial support to scientists holding post-graduate positions in their respective country that are confirmed to present and attend the APS annual meeting. 
  • Renuka N. Attanayake, University of Kelaniya, Sri Lanka
  • Leilani S. Dacones, University of the Philippines, Philippines