Link to home

​Excellence in International Service Award

This award recognizes outstanding contributions to plant pathology by APS members for countries other than their own. Contributions may have been made through collaborative projects, sabbaticals, short- and long-term assignments with educational or governmental agencies, including, but not limited to, international centers and research institutes. Nominees should be individuals who have made outstanding contributions to plant pathology for a country beyond their home country. Supporting information could include descriptions of plant pathology programs that have been established, collaborative efforts with scientists in the host country, publications resulting from work done in the host country, and effective coordination of educational programs for universities or government agencies. Recipient receives an award and honorarium (a portion of which is to be designated to the international program of the recipient’s choice). Funds for this honorarium are made possible from the APS Foundation JANE Fund (John and Ann Niederhauser Endowment).

Fellows are not eligible to be nominated for excellence awards except when the new nominations are for accomplishments different from that on which the Fellow nomination was based, and the new accomplishment has occurred after recognition as a Fellow.

View Guidelines and Submit Nomination​


1998 B.E. Lockhart
2000 C.C. Mundt
2001 R.S. Zeigler
2002 S.A. Miller
2003 K. Cardwell
2004 H. Czosnek
2005 J. Steadman
2006 H. D. Thurston
2007 N. Rayapati
2008 R. Ploetz
2009 R. Sikora

2011 M. Babadoost 
2012 L. E. Datnoff
2013 J. C. Comstock
2014 V. Verdier
2015 R.J. Nelson
2016 J. B. Ristaino
2017 R. Bandyopadhyay
2018 J. ​E. Bowman
2019 C.M. Deom​
2020 J. Brown

​2021 R. Kemerait​
2022 Pablo Olivera Firpo​​
*Please note that all bios linked from this page were published at the time of the received award and may not be current​.​