Link to home

​APS Pacific Division Graduate Student Travel Awards

The Pacific Division Student Travel Award, established in 2000, is intended to increase opportunities for students attending institutions within the Pacific Division region to participate in APS Pacific Division meetings.

Applications are invited each year for Pacific Division Student Travel Awards. The awards are intended to increase opportunities for students attending institutions within the Pacific Division region to participate in APS Pacific Division meetings. Several $500 travel awards will be available to APS Pacific Division student members giving oral presentations at the Pacific Division meeting. No Student Travel Awards will be awarded at virtual meetings. Graduate students who are good-standing members of the Pacific Division of the American Phytopathological Society, who plan to present a paper (oral or poster) at the Pacific Division meeting, and who did not receive a travel grant the previous year are eligible to compete for a 2023 PD-APS Travel Grant. The application will consist of a narrative statement of no more than 500 words describing the applicant’s academic interests, career goals, current academic status (including courses taken), and involvement in professional activities. Descriptions of innovative projects and/or research that the applicant has conducted and/or participated in should also be included. The applicant should state how participation in the meeting will lead toward achievement of professional goals. An abstract of the presentation must also be submitted as well as a confidential letter of recommendation from the student’s graduate advisor.

Applicants competing for the 2023 PD-APS Scholarship must 1) be enrolled in a graduate program in the Pacific Division either at the time of, or within six months prior to, the abstract submission deadline; 2) be a member in good standing of the Pacific Division at the time of the meeting; 3) present a paper at the Pacific Division meeting based on work conducted at an institution in the Pacific Division; 4) submit a completed application containing the narrative statement described above, and a copy of the abstract to be presented as a single PDF; and 5) request a letter of support be submitted by their major advisor or PI supervisor.

COMPLETED APPLICATIONS AND LETTERS OF SUPPORT SHOULD BE SUBMITTED BY EMAIL TO:  PD-APS President, Christina Hagerty at by January 16, 2022. Applicants will receive an email notification after their application has been received.

Scholarship recipients will be notified approximately one month before the meeting.

​Award Winner​s

​Olga Kozhar
Washington State University

​Srijana Dura​
Washington State University

​David Enicks
Washington State University

​Lederson Ganan Betancur
Washington State University
​Raphael Adegbola
​Washington State University
​Morgan Gray
​University of California-Riverside
​Leslie Holland
​University of California-Davis
​Arunabha Mitra
​Washington State University
​Joseph Carrillo
​University of California-Riverside
​Lu Liu
​Washington State University
​Joey Mayorquin
​University of California-Riverside
​Chongjing Xia
​Washington State University
​Yi Zhu
​New Mexico State University
​Daniel Farber
​Oregon State University

​Zach Frederick
​Washington State University

​Leslie Holland
​University California-Davis

​Lindani Moyo
​Washington State University

​Cristian Olaya
​Washington State University

​Sowmya Ramachandran
​Washington State University

​Hannah Rivedal
​Oregon State University

​Xuefei Wang
​Washington State University
​Alfredo Diaz Lara
​Oregon State University

​Andrea Garfinkel
Washington State University

​Zhian Kamvar
​Oregon State University

​Gurleen Kaur
​New Mexico State University

​Kathleen McKeever
Washington State University

​Javier Tabima
​Oregon State University

​Erin Gunnink Troth
​Montana State University
​Lindsey Thiessen
​Oregon State University
​Robin Choudhury
​University of California-Davis

​Teresa Jardini
Washington State University
​2013Soumyadip Kundu
Lydia Tymon
Diego Viteri
​2012Nomatter Chingandu
Ruben Garcia de la Cruz
2011Renuka Attanayake
Deana Baucom
Kaityn Bissonnette
Stephanie Hecker
Dipak Sharma-Poudual
Stephanie Slinski
Cassandra Swett
Lydia Tymon
​2010​Ebraheim M. Babiker
Jeremiah K. Dung
Emily W. Gatch
Jessica A. Gigot
​2009​Ernesto Moya
Suman Mukherjee
Grant Poole
Hongyan Sheng
Fushi Wen
Mohammad Yaghmour
​2008Jeremiah Dung
Joseph Jertberg
Leilani Kitz
Melody Meyer
​2007​​​Laura Gallegos
Sridhar Jarugula
Vihanga Pahalawatta
Jose Ramon Urbez-Torres
Loukas Kanetis
Elsa Petit
​2005No applications received
​2004Gladys Mbofung
Donna Henderson
Qingli Liu
Suzanne Latham
Ioannis Tzanetakis
​2003Carrieann Nielsen
Mingyuan Cheng
​2002Claudia Nischwitz
T​amla Blunt
Rene Van Aelst-Bouma
​2001​​Lyndon Porter
Claudia Nischwitz