Link to home

Donald M. Ferrin Memorial Service Award



Photo courtesy of Johnny W. Morgan, LSU AgCenter

​This honor is granted to a member of the Southern Division of the American Phytopathological Society in recognition of distinguished service to the American Phytopathological Society.  Any Southern Division member who has served for the American Phytopathological Society at the national or divisional level and made outstanding contributions to the advancement of the society’s mission is eligible for nomination.  The award may be made annually. 

Any active member of the Southern Division may nominate a candidate.  The nomination must be accompanied by (1) a vitae or resume and (2) a one-page statement giving name, position, affiliation, and critique that includes the nature, scope and relevance of the service to the American Phytopathological Society that qualify the nominee for our consideration.   
Nominations and supporting information must be received by members of the award committee at least one month prior to meeting of the Southern Division.  Nominations will be considered for a period of three years from the year of initial submission.  The persons nominating candidates will be given the opportunity to update nomination statements for candidates being reconsidered.

Nominations for the Donald M. Ferrin Memorial Service Award recipient to be recognized at the 2024 SD-APS Meeting a​re due to SD-APS Committee Chair, Tim Brenneman ( by December 13, 2023. ​​ Please include “SD-APS Award Nomination” in the subject line.


Award Winners

​2024​ Pamela Roberts, University of Florida
​2023 Kevin Ong, Texas A & M University
​2022​ Rebecca Melanson, Mississippi State University
​2021​ Shaker Kousik, USDA ARS
​ Albert Culbreath, University of Georgia​
​ Robert Haygood, Corteva Agriscience
​ No award given
​ Katherine Stevenson, University of Georgia
​ Kenneth W. Seebold, Jr., Valent USA