Link to home

Virology Student Travel Award

Colleagues have established the Virology Student Travel Award for the contributions of students and findings in virology.

The Virology Student Travel Award was established in 1999. Since the science of virology was founded in 1898 with seminal studies on tobacco mosaic virus, viruses have played a central role in understanding how all pathogens cause disease and as tools to study the biology of the plant cell. Due to very few means to control plant viruses, every year there are devastating effects on human society resulting in inadequate nutrition or loss of income for growers. The spread of significant virus diseases on crop and ornamental plants worldwide continues in association with global trade and travel. Therefore, a more complete basic and applied understanding of viruses and their interactions with host plants and biological vectors is needed to provide new strategies to control important virus diseases throughout the world.

The travel award was established to facilitate student travel to the APS annual meeting so that students in plant virology would have the opportunity to present findings from their studies and interact with virologists from around the world. Founding contributors recognized for their efforts to establish and develop this fund include: Yiming Bao, Jeffrey Batten, Stella Coakley, Carrie Dooh, Robert Fulton, Rose Gergerich, Rosemarie Hammond, John Hill, Bradley Hillman, Suzanne Hurtt, Andrew Jackson, Robert Martin, Ulrich Melcher, Stephen Nameth, Annette Nassuth, Richard Nelson, Herman Scholthof, Kisha Shelton, John L. Sherwood, Chester Sutula, Sue Tolin, Jari Valkonen, Jerry Walker, Ruth Welliver, Milt Zaitlin, The Samuel Roberts Noble Foundation, and the Virology Working Group.

Travel Awards:

2000 Jeffrey Batten, Texas A&M University
2001 Peter Sforza, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
2002 Anna Whitfield, University of Wisconsin-Madison
2003 Anne Halgren, Oregon State University and Heather Melidossian, Cornell University
2004 Amy Ziems, University of Nebraska
2005 James Susaimuthu, University of Arkansas
2006 Sushma Jossey, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign Charles Hagen, University of California, Davis
2007 Tom Oben, University of Ibadan; Thanuja Thekke Veetil, University of Illinois
2008 Jessica Ciomperlik, Texas A&M University; Emmanuel Byamukama, Iowa State University
2009 Thanuja Thekke Veetil, University of Illinois
2010 Bindu Poudel, Clemson University
2011 Alma Laney, University of Arkansas
2012 Ana Fulladolsa, University of Wisconsin
2013 Sudarsana Poojari, Washington State University