Link to home

​2023 APS Awardees​

​Congratulations to our fellow members and colleagues who were selected to receive APS awards in honor of their significant contributions to the science of plant pathology! ​ Awardees will be recognized and celebrated at Plant Health 2023


The society grants this honor to a current APS member in recognition of distinguished contributions to plant pathology or to The American Phytopathological Society. Fellow recognition is based on significant contributions in one or more of the following areas: original research, teaching, a​dministration, professional and public service, and/or extension and outreach.

Kira Bowen
Auburn University

Gary Chastagner
Washington State University

Marc Cubeta
North Carolina State University

Maria Finckh
University of Kassel, Germany

John Hartung

Anthony Keinath
Clemson University

Alison Robertson
Iowa State University

Nian Wang
University of Florida

Yinong Yang
The Pennsylvania State University

Excellence in Extension

Recognizes an APS member for excellence in extension plant pathology. Nominees will be individuals who have made outstanding contributions by creating, developing, or implementing extension-related programs or materials or who have provided significant leadership in an area of extension plant pathology.

Jay Pscheidt
Oregon State University

Excellence in Teaching

Recognizes an APS member for excellence in teaching plant pathology. Preference is given to active teachers with responsibility for one or more courses in plant pathology.

Jose Pablo Dundore-Arias​
California State University Monterey Bay

William Boright Hewitt and Maybelle Ellen Ball Hewitt 

Recognizes a scientist within seven​ years of receiving a PhD who has made an outstanding and ​innovative contribution directed towards the control of plant disease.

Edel Pérez-López
Université Laval, Canada

Lee M. Hutchins

This award is presented to the author or authors of published research on basic or applied aspects of diseases of perennial fruit plants (tree fruits, tree nuts, small fruits, and grapes, including tropical fruits, but excluding vegetables).

Clive Bock
USDA ARS, Southeastern Fruit and Tree Nut Research Laboratory

Ruth Allen 

This award honors individuals who have made an outstanding, innovative research contribution that has changed, or has the potential to change, the direction of research in any field of plant pathology.

Anna Whitfield
North Carolina State University


This award is given by Syngenta Crop Protection to an APS member for an outstanding recent contribution to teaching, research, or extension in plant pathology.

Lina Quesada-Ocampo
North Carolina State University