Link to home

This award recognizes a scientist within 7 years of the Ph.D. who has made an outstanding, innovative contribution directed towards the control of plant disease. In order to be considered, the nominee must have received the Ph.D. no more than seven years prior to nomination, and be an APS member. Contributions that include research or activities performed for a graduate degree will not be considered. Supporting information should include a detailed description of innovative research or extension programs. Nominations will stand for only one year. Recipient will receive an award and honorarium​ derived form funds bequeathed to the society by the Hewitt estate.

View Guidelines and Submit Nomination​


2002 S. Hu
2006 K-H. Wang
2007 N. Peres
2008 P. Paul
2010 N. Wang
2012 P. S. Ojiambo
2016 M. L. Paret
2017 L. M. Quesada
2018 S. Aruppillai