Link to home

Southern Division Student/Post-Doc Travel Grants

​Graduate students and post-doctoral researchers who are good-standing members of the Southern Division of the American Phytopathological Society, who plan to present a paper (oral or poster) at the Southern Division meeting, and who did not receive a travel grant the previous year are eligible to compete for a 2024 SD-APS Travel Grant. 

Up to five travel grants in the amount of $400 each may be granted. 

Application Requirements

​​The application will consist of a narrative statement of no more than 500 words describing the applicant’s academic interests, career goals, current academic status (including courses taken), and involvement in professional activities. Descriptions of innovative projects and/or research that the applicant has conducted and/or participated in should also be included. 

The applicant should state how participation in the meeting will lead toward achievement of professional goals. 

An abstract of the presentation must also be submitted as well as a confidential letter of recommendation from the student’s graduate advisor. 

Applicant Requirements for competing in the 2024 SD-APS Travel Grant

  • ​be enrolled in a graduate program in the Southern Division either at the time of, or within six months prior to, the abstract submission deadline or be a post-doctoral researcher at an institution in the Southern Division at the time of the abstract submission deadline;
  • be a member in good standing of the APS Southern Division at the time of the meeting; 
  • present a paper at the annual meeting of the APS Southern Division based on work conducted at an institution in the Southern Division; 
  • submit a completed application containing this Southern Division APS application form, the narrative statement described above, and a copy of the abstract to be presented as a single PDF;
  • request a letter of support be submitted by their major advisor or PI supervisor. 

Graduate students competing in the Graduate Student Research Competition are eligible for a 2024 SD-APS Travel Grant. The rubric used in judging applications can be found here.


Applicants will receive an email notification after their application has been received. Those selected for funding will be notified approximately one month before the meeting.

Travel Grant Recipients​





​2024​Columbia, SC​Erin Arthur​Texas A&M University
​Larissa Carvalho FerreiraUniversity of Florida
​Santosh Koirala​University of Georgia
​Henry Smith​University of Kentucky
​Vanessa ThomasTexas A&M University
​2023Durham, NC
​Qiurong Fan​University of Arkansas
​Livleen Kaur​Auburn University
​Juanita Gil Bedoya​IICA
​Christina Jennings​Tennessee State University
​Milan Panth​Clemson University
​Bhawana Ghimire​Tennessee State University
​Matthew Cullen​University of Florida
​2022Chattanooga, TN​Tracy Hawk​​University of Tennessee Knoxville
​Sherif Sharfadine
University of Arkansas
​Usha Bhatta
​University of Georgia
​Wanita Dantes
​Clemson University
​Oluwakemisola "Kemi" Olofintila
​Auburn University
​Charleston, SC
​Renata Belisario
​University of Kentucky​

​Ravi Baka
​Tennessee State University

​Emily Boak
​Texas A&M University

​Noam Eckshtain-Levi
​University of NC at Chapel Hill

​Milan Panth​
​Tennessee State University
​Gainesville, FL
​Tracy Hawk​
​University of Arkansas

​Kathryn Haydon
​Universtiy of Arkansas

​Ying-Yu Liao
​University of Florida
​S. Corinne Rhodes
​Texas A&M AgriLife Ext Svc
Fayetteville, AR
Kelsey Andersen
University of Florida

Madison McCullochUniversity of Kentucky
Michelle OliveiraUniversity of Florida
Shaun SticeUniversity of Georgia
2017College Station, TXRodrigo Borba OnofreUniversity of Florida

Chakradhar MattupalliNobel Foundation
Patricia SoriaUniversity of Florida
Jeffrey StandishUniversity of Georgia
2016Balm, FLEduardo Chagas Ferreira da SilvaLouisiana State University
Utsala ShrestaUniversity of Tennessee
Tessie WilkersonMississippi State University
2015Atlanta, GATyler DreadenUniversity of Florida
Misbakhul MunirUniversity of Kentucky
Peng TianUniversity of Georgia
2014Dallas, TXMary Helen FergusonLouisiana State Univ
Eduardo Chagas Ferreira Da SilvaLouisiana State Univ
Kirandeep KaurLouisiana State Univ
Anna SelphUniv of Georgia
2013Baton Rouge, LASuzette ArcibalUniv of Georgia
Thomas IngramUniv of Georgia
David LaughlinTexas A&M University
Rodrigo OlarteNorth Carolina State
Imana PowerUniv of Georgia
2012Birmingham, ALOluseyi FajoluUniv of Tennessee
Felix FrancisLouisiana State Univ
Mala GanigerLouisiana State Univ
Rattandeep GillUniv of Georgia
Heather YoungUniv of Florida
2011Corpus Christi, TXBhabesh DuttaUniv of Georgia
Hari KarkiLouisiana State Univ
Rebecca MelansonLouisiana State Univ
Jennifer MillerTarleton State Univ
Andrea PayneOklahoma State Univ
Bindu PoudelUniv of Arkansas
Bishnu ShresthaLouisiana State Univ
Nicole WardLouisiana State Univ
Washington da SilvaLouisiana State Univ
Everlyne WosulaLouisiana State Univ
Jing ZhouUniv of Arkansas
2010Orlando, FLJulie CampbellTexas A&M University
  Bhabesh Dutta University of Georgia
  Kirthi Yadagiri Clemson University
2009Atlanta, GAAshok ChandaLouisiana State University
2008Dallas, TXRyan DunahooUniversity of Tennessee
  Brooke EdmundsNorth Carolina State University
  Dina GutierrezLouisiana State University
  Yong-Soon ParkTexas A&M University
Cruz TorresTexas A&M University
2007Mobile, ALMaritza AbrilUniversity of Southern Mississippi
  Wei-bo DongUniversity of Georgia
  Melinda Miller-ButlerUniversity of Southern Mississippi
  Jeffrey WilsonTexas Tech University
2006Orlando, FLSamuel NjorogeClemson University
  Silvinia GiammariaUniversity of Arkansas
Brooke EdmundsNorth Carolina State University
Avneet Kaur BrarAlabama A&M University
2005Little Rock, ARSara GremillioinUniversity of Georgia
Damon SmithNorth Carolina State University
Jason WoodwardUniversity of Georgia

Click here for a list of APS Southern Division Travel Awardees from 2001 to 2010