Link to home

2011 Field Crops Rust Symposium (FCRS) Final Summary
December 14–16, 2011
San Antonio, Texas, U.S.A.

Date of summary–2.1.12
Prepared by APS Meetings Department Staff

FCRS Program Committee Members

Don Hershman, University of Kentucky, Field Crop Rust Symposium Coordinator
Erick De Wolf, Kansas State University, Program Chair
Members:  Cathy Aime, Louisiana State University AgCenter; Bill Dolezal, Pioneer Hi-Bred, a DuPont Business; Glenn Hartman, University of Illinois; Prakash Hebbar, USDA APHIS PPQ EDP; Scott Isard,
Penn State University; Tamra Jackson, University of Nebraska; Bob Kemerait, University of Georgia; James Marois, University of Florida; Tim Murray, Washington State University; Alison Robertson,
Iowa State University; Edward Sikora, Auburn University; Les Szabo, USDA ARS ; Paul Vincelli, University of Kentucky

Registration Information

(open late–August, 2011)
Symposium Fee
Registration fee includes dessert reception, lunch and coffee breaks.
$95 registration fee, if received by October 25, 2011
$139 registration fee, if received by November 22, 2011
$179 registration fee, if received on or after November 23, 2011 or onsite

Poster Fee
$45 display fee per poster
Poster categories will include: Corn, Soybean, Wheat, Other

Hotel Information

San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter
101 Bowie Street
San Antonio, Texas 78205
Rate:     $119 Single/Double
$20 for each additional person
Plus 16.75% tax

Located on the San Antonio Riverwalk, the hotel is convenient to shopping, cultural and historical landmarks including the world famous Alamo, and an abundance of dining opportunities for all tastes.

Attendance Numbers

Anticipated attendance:               131 total attendance registered

International Attendance – countries represented:
Australia – 2
Azerbaijan – 1
Brazil – 5
Canada – 2
France – 1
Germany – 3
Israel – 1
Mexico – 1
Nigeria – 1
South Africa – 1
United States – 113

Program Presenters

Keynote Address: Philip Pardey, University of Minnesota
Presenters: M. Catherine Aime, Louisiana State University
Robert L. Bowden, USDA-ARS
Glen L. Hartman, USDA-ARS and University of Illinois
Bill Dolezal, Pioneer Hi-Bred, a DuPont Business
Jeremy J. Burdon, CSIRO - Plant Industry
James Kolmer, USDA-ARS Cereal Disease Laboratory
Ralf T. Voegele, Universität Hohenheim
Guo-Liang Wang, The Ohio State University
Robert S. Brueggeman, North Dakota State University
Scot Hulbert, Washington State University
Reid D. Frederick, USDA-ARS
Scott A. Isard, Penn State University
Erick De Wolf, Kansas State University
Les J. Szabo, USDA-ARS Cereal Disease Laboratory
Robert C. Kemerait, University of Georgia
Jerald K. Pataky, Monsanto Company and University of Illinois
Christopher C. Mundt, Oregon State University
Timothy D. Murray, Washington State University

Number of Posters

32 submitted

Symposium Program

Wednesday, December 14, 2011
7:30 – 10:00 p.m. Dessert Reception with Poster Viewing
Thursday, December 15, 2011
8:30 – 10:10 a.m. Welcome
Keynote Address: Rust Diseases within a Global Food Security Context
General Session 1: Foundational Understandings for the Rust Diseases of Field Crops
10:10 – 10:30 a.m. Break
10:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. General Session 1 (continued)
12:30 – 2:00 p.m. Lunch (provided for registered attendees)
2:00 - 3:30 p.m. General Session 2: Molecular Interactions of Host Plants with Rust Pathogens
3:30 – 4:00 p.m. Break
4:00 - 5:00 p.m. General Session 2 (continued)
Evening Free Time—on your own to enjoy San Antonio
Friday, December 16, 2011
8:00 - 9:30 a.m. General Session 3: Movement of Rust Diseases, Detection, and Monitoring
9:30 – 10:00 a.m. Break
10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. General Session 4: Management Strategies for Rust Diseases
12:00 – 12:10 p.m. Meeting Wrap-up
12:10 p.m. Adjourn (poster take-down by 12:30 p.m.)

List of Sponsors

Kansas State University                              
Bayer CropScience                                     
Northeast IPM                                            
North Central IPM                                       
Western IPM                                              
Southern IPM                                             
United Soybean Board                               
Arysta LifeScience                                     
OMAFRA / Ontario.gif                                
Valent U.S.A.                                             
Ohio Corn & Wheat Growers Association     
National Corn Growers Association             
California Wheat Commission                       
Kansas Wheat                                            
Alabama Wheat and Feed Grain Producers  
Texas Wheat Producers                              
Oklahoma Wheat Commission                    
American Sugar Cane League                     
National Association of Wheat Growers       
Kentucky Small Grain Growers Association  
Kentucky Corn Growers Association            
Missouri Corn Growers Association