Link to home

​​2021 APS Foundation Awardees

​Congratulations to the following APS members who received awards from the APS Foundation in 2021.

APS Foundation Student Awardees

The interest from these funds helps underwrite the cost of APS Annual Meeting attendance for students. The Graduate Student Committee assists the APS Foundation​ in developing application standards and in awardee selection. Thank you to all of our generous Named Student Award Donors for allowing the following students to attend Plant Health 2021 Online​.

  • Ashish Adhikari, University of Florida
  • Rufus Akinrinlola, University of Tennessee-Knoxville
  • Suzette Arcibal Baldwin, University of Idaho
  • Allina Bennett, University of Georgia
  • Jonathan D. Beutler, University of California-Davis
  • Usha Bhatta, University of Georgia
  • Manoj Choudhary, University of Florida
  • Audrey M. Conrad, Purdue University
  • Maria Izabel Costa de Novaes, Louisiana State University
  • Austin Nathaniel Fife, The University of Florida
  • Stratton John Georgoulis, University of California-Davis
  • Mackenzie Gunn, University of Georgia
  • Diego Ernesto Gutierrez Castillo, Colorado State University
  • Waana Kaluwasha, Louisiana State University
  • Santosh Koirala, University of Georgia
  • Brett Robert Lane, University of Florida
  • Emily K. Luna, Colorado State University
  • Asha Mane, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Marcus Marin, University of Florida
  • Arunabha Mitra, Washington State University
  • Gabriel Dario Muñoz Herrera, Louisiana State University
  • Natalia Pineros Guerrero, Purdue University
  • Shannon Brianne Piper, University of Wisconsin
  • Ambika Pokhrel, Auburn University
  • Jacob Sharkey, Colorado State University
  • Tammy Lynn Stackhouse, University of Georgia
  • Madison Stahr, North Carolina State University​
  • Tristan Wei Wang, Cornell University
  • Xing Wei, Virginia Tech Tidewater AREC
  • Peiqi Zhang, University of Florida​

APS-Indian Phytopathological Society (IPS) Student Awardees

  • Routhu Gowtham Kumar, Assam Agricultural University
  • Jagmohan Singh, ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute
  • Sabiha Saeed, Aligarh Muslim University
  • Sumaih Wani, Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences & Technology of Kashmir

Helps scientists, educators, extension personnel, and other agriculturalists in developing countries acquire educational materials from APS PRESS.

Andrea Alejandra Arrua
Universidad Nacional de Asunción

​​​Wadzani Dauda Palnam
Federal University Gashua

​​Faheem Uddin Rajer
Sindh Agriculture University

Provides support for a Latin American plant pathologist to attend an annual meeting of APS, publish in journals, or pay for ​APS membership.


E​dilaine Mauricia Gelinski Grabicoski
Universidade Estadual de Maringá

Features graduate student research around a central theme which changes annually. 2021 theme is Microbial life on a leaf: Building foundation for sustainable agriculture.​
Hanareia Ehau-Taumaunu
The Pennsylvania State University​
Prabha Liyanapathiranage
Auburn University
Carrie Fearer
The Ohio State University
Rishi Ram Bhandari
Auburn University

Lafayette Frederick Diversity in Mentoring Award
The award enables mentors to enhance the academic and professional experiences of mentees and to increase the number of practicing plant pathologists from underrepresented groups, particularly those from historically Black colleges and universities, 1890 land-grant institutions, Tribal colleges and universities (1994 land-grant institutions), and minority serving institutions. 

Corri​ Hamilton
University of Wisconsin-Madison (PhD candidate)
​Will mentor students from the Vincent High​ School of Agricultural Sciences in a project to screen plant pathogenic bacteria for antimicrobial compounds.

Tiffany Lowe-Power
University of California-Davis (assistant professor)
Will mentor students from Fort Valley State University and from Tuskegee University in a remote-learning bioinformatics project to identify effectors in Ralstonia solanacearum. 

Additionally, both awardees will provide career guidance and networking opportunities to their mentees. 

Provides support to plant pathology graduate students for expenses related to their research, equipment, education, and skills development.

Li Wang
University of Georgia​

Schroth Faces of the Future Awards 

Supports up and coming individuals in specific areas of plant pathology for the "Faces of the Future" symposium held at Plant Health 2021 Online​. The 2021 discipline focus is Nematology. 

Kaitlyn Bissonnette
University of Missouri

Deepak Haarith
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Sebastian Eves-van den Akker
University of Cambridge
United Kingdom

Kanan Saikai
International Institute of Tropical Agriculture

Lei Zhang
Purdue University


Apply for Funding

Additional funding opportunities ​are available through the APS Foundation. 

Learn more​

Foundation Award Previous Recipients​

​​Previous A​w​ardees​​​