Link to home

Pacific Division Early Career Award

Nominations are invited each year for the Pacific Division Early Career Award. This award was established in 1999 to honor selected individuals belonging to the Pacific Division with 10 or fewer years of postgraduate experience and/or service. The award can be for a single outstanding contribution or for sustained significant notable contributions to plant pathology in extension, research, teaching, or industry. Nominees must also be active members of the Pacific Division.

Nominations must include the following:

  • Nomination statement, no more than two pages double-spaced. Detailing the name, current position and affiliation, and years and names of institutions granting degrees of the nominee. Describe either the nominee’s single outstanding contribution or sustained significant notable contributions to plant pathology in their early career. The contributions may be in research, teaching, extension, or any other aspect of plant pathology in either an academic or nonacademic environment.
  • Provide a comprehensive vita that describes their accomplishments and supportive citations or other material that qualify the nominee for the award.
  • Prepare an accurate biographical sketch of the nominee not exceeding 1,000 words.
  • All documents (nomination letter, CV, biographical sketch) should be combined into one PDF.


COMPLETED NOMINATION PACKETS SHOULD BE SUBMITTED BY EMAIL TO:  PD-APS Awards Committee Chair, Jeremiah Dung at by February 23, 2024. Nominators will receive an email notification after their application has been received.


Award Winners

​2023Kasia Duellman​
2022 ​Christina Hagerty
2020Jane Stewart
Jose Ramon Urbez Torres
Jeremiah Dung
2014Claudia Nischwitz
​Lyndon Porter
​David H. Gent
​Lindsey du Toit
​​David Rizzo

The Pacific Division Early Career Award was first awarded in 2002