Link to home

Two Independent Quantitative Trait Loci Are Responsible for Novel Resistance to Beet curly top virus in Common Bean Landrace G122

October 2010 , Volume 100 , Number  10
Pages  972 - 978

Richard C. Larsen, Chester J. Kurowski, and Phillip N. Miklas

First and third authors: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, Vegetable and Forage Crop Research Unit, 24106 North Bunn Road, Prosser, WA 99350; and second author: Harris Moran Seed Company, 9241 Mace Blvd., Davis, CA 95616.

Go to article:
Accepted for publication 24 May 2010.

Beet curly top virus, often referred to as Curly top virus (CTV), is an important virus disease of common bean in the semiarid regions of the United States, Canada, and Mexico and the only effective control is genetic resistance. Our objective was to determine if dry bean landrace G122, which lacks the Bct gene for resistance to CTV, contains novel resistance to the virus. Two populations, GT-A and GT-B, consisting of 98 F5:7 recombinant inbred lines (RILs) in total were derived from a cross between G122 and the susceptible variety Taylor Horticultural and evaluated for phenotypic response to natural CTV field infection. Genetic analyses revealed random amplified polymorphism DNA (RAPD) markers associated with a major-effect quantitative trait loci (QTL) from G122 which exhibited stable expression across 3 years in both populations. Phenotypic variation explained by the QTL in GT-A (37.6%) was greater than in GT-B (20.4%). RAPD marker Q14.973 was converted to a sequence-characterized amplified region (SCAR) and designated SQ14.973. The SCAR was used to locate the QTL on linkage group 6 of the Phaseolus core map. A survey of 74 common bean cultivars and breeding lines revealed SQ14.973 would be widely useful for marker-assisted selection of the QTL. An additional minor-effect QTL from G122 was detected on linkage group 7. G122 was determined to possess novel resistance to CTV conditioned by at least two genes, one with major the other minor effect.

The American Phytopathological Society, 2010