Link to home

​​​​Art in Phytopathology

The Art in Phytopathology Contest is an arena to showcase artwork of students and members in the area of Phytopathology. The beginning of the contest runs back to 2002, and hundreds of entries with unique creative expressions of art have been displayed since then. Historically, entries have spanned artistic media including photography, crochet, digital imaging, illustrations, and much, much more! 

The Graduate Student Committee would like to invite all APS members to submit entries for the 2019 Art in Phytopathology contest! Graduate student pa​rticipation is especially encouraged. Art in any medium is welcome, but all artwork must be submitted in a digital format. Please email your submission(s) to: Along with your piece, please also include your full name, job title, employer address, title of your artwork, written permission for APS to reproduce or publish your submission, and a brief description of your artwork (include medium, dimensions, what the art depicts, etc.).

You can submit the entries for the following​ categories:

  • Art and Crafts
  • Creative Ways to Display Data
  • Nature
  • Humor
  • 2019 NEW category: Magnified

Judges give each entry points based on creativity, aesthetic value, technical merit, originality, and relatedness to plant pathology. All artwork must be original, related to the general theme of plant disease, and created by a current member of APS. Each entrant may submit up to three pieces. Submissions are due June 15.

The winner for each category will receive $50, and the “Best in Show” will receive an additional $50. If you or your organization would like to help sponsor this contest, please email Thank you for your continued support!

APS reserves the right to use, reproduce, or publish submitted artwork. Entries will be displayed at the annual meeting before a general session at the annual meeting, throughout the meeting via a poster, and posted on the APS website after the meeting. This contest would not be possible without time and efforts of our Graduate Student Committee-Art in Phytopathology subcommittee: Jeannie Klein, Megan Buland, Coralie Farinas, Anuj Sharma, Alex Turo, and Bill Weldon​.

2019  Results  ​​​2017 Results​