Link to home

2024 Awardees​

Congratulations to our fellow members and colleagues who were selected to receive APS awards in honor of their significant contributions to the science of plant pathology and to our Society! ​Awardees will be ​recognized and celebrated at Plant Health 2024.


The society grants this honor to a current APS member in recognition of distinguished contributions to plant pathology or to The American Phytopathological Society. Fellow recognition is based on significant contributions in one or more of the following areas: original research, teaching, administration, professional and public service, and/or extension and outreach.

The Fellows Award Ceremony will be part of the Opening Session on Sunday, July 28 at Plant Health 2024.​


Z. Gloria Abad 
USDA APHIS, retired

James Bradeen

Colorado State University

Hailing Jin

University of California, Riverside

Blanca Beatriz Landa

Institute for Sustainable Agriculture of the CSIC, Spain

Marcial (Talo)

USDA ARS, retired

Guido Schnabel

Clemson University

Paul Vincelli

University of Kentucky

Bing Yang
University of Missouri

Excellence & Named Awards​

​The Excellence & Named Awards Ceremony will be part of the Plenary Session on Tuesday, July 30 at Plant Health 2024.​

Excellence in Extension

Recognizes an APS member for excellence in extension plant pathology. Nominees will be individuals who have made outstanding contributions by creating, developing, or implementing extension-related programs or materials or who have provided significant leadership in an area of extension plant pathology.

Michelle Moyer​

Washington State University

Excellence in Industry

Recognizes outstanding contributions to plant pathology by APS members whose primary employment involves work outside the university and federal realms either for profit or nonprofit. 

Abigail Stack

Bayer Crop Science

Excellence in Teaching

Recognizes an APS member for excellence in teaching plant pathology. Preference is given to active teachers with responsibility for one or more courses in plant pathology.

Robert "Lou" Hirsch

University of Kentucky

Ruth Allen Award

This award honors individuals who have made an outstanding, innovative research contribution that has changed, or has the potential to change, the direction of research in any field of plant pathology.

Timothy Friesen


William Boright Hewitt and Maybelle Ellen Ball Hewitt Award

Recognizes a scientist within seven​ years of receiving a PhD who has made an outstanding and ​innovative contribution directed towards the control of plant disease.

Jonathan Richards

Louisiana State University
Agricultural Center

Lee M. Hutchins Award

This award is presented to the author or authors of published research on basic or applied aspects of diseases of perennial fruit plants (tree fruits, tree nuts, small fruits, and grapes, including tropical fruits, but excluding vegetables).

Juan Moral​

University of Cordoba

​Noel T. Keen Award

Recognizes APS members who made outstanding contributions and demonstrated sustained excellence and leadership in research that significantly advances the understanding of molecular aspects of host–pathogen interactions, plant pathogens or plant-associated microbes, or molecular biology of disease development or defense mechanisms. ​

Walter Gassmann

University of Missouri

Syngenta Award

This award is given by Syngenta Crop Protection to an APS member for an outstanding recent contribution to teaching, research, or extension in plant pathology.

Kranthi Mandadi​

​Texas A&M AgriLife Research