Link to home

Isolation of an N-alkylated Benzylamine Derivative from Pseudomonas putida BTP1 as Elicitor of Induced Systemic Resistance in Bean

June 2005 , Volume 18 , Number  6
Pages  562 - 569

Marc Ongena , 1 Emmanuel Jourdan , 1 Mathias Schäfer , 2 Cécile Kech , 3 Herbert Budzikiewicz , 2 André Luxen , 3 and Philippe Thonart 1

1Centre Wallon de Biologie Industrielle, Service de Technologie Microbienne, University of Liège, B-4000 Liège and Unité de Bioindustries, Gembloux Agricultural University, B-5030 Gembloux, Belgium; 2Institüt für Organische Chemie, University of Cologne, 50939 Köln, Germany; 3Unité de Chimie Organique de Synthèse, University of Liège, B-4000 Liège, Belgium

Go to article:
Accepted 11 February 2005.

Root treatment of Phaseolus vulgaris with the nonpathogenic Pseudomonas putida BTP1 led to significant reduction of the disease caused by the pathogen Botrytis cinerea on leaves. The molecular determinant of P. putida BTP1 mainly responsible for the induced systemic resistance (ISR) was isolated from cell-free culture fluid after growth of the strain in the iron-poor casamino acid medium. Mass spectrometry analyses performed on both the bacterial product and synthetic analogues revealed a polyalkylated benzylamine structure, with the quaternary ammonium substituted by methyl, ethyl, and C13 aliphatic groups responsible for the relative hydrophobicity of the molecule. The specific involvement of the N-alkylated benzylamine derivative (NABD) in ISR elicitation was first evidenced by testing the purified compound that mimicked the protective effect afforded by crude supernatant samples. The evidence was supported by the loss of elicitor activity of mutants impaired in NABD biosynthesis. Our experiments also showed that other iron-regulated metabolites secreted by the strain are not involved in ISR stimulation. Thus, these results indicate a wider variety of Pseudomonas determinants for ISR than reported to date.

Additional keywords: biological control , plant growth-promoting rhizobacteria .

© 2005 The American Phytopathological Society