Link to home

Differential Defense Reactions in Leaf Tissues of Barley in Response to Infection by Rhynchosporium secalis and to Treatment with a Fungal Avirulence Gene Product

October 2003 , Volume 16 , Number  10
Pages  893 - 902

Sabine Steiner-Lange , 1 Achim Fischer , 1 Annette Boettcher , 2 Ila Rouhara , 1 Hiltrud Liedgens , 1 Elmon Schmelzer , 1 and Wolfgang Knogge 2

1Department of Biochemistry, Max-Planck Institute for Plant Breeding Research, Carl-von-Linné-Weg 10, D-50829 Köln, Germany; 2School of Agriculture and Wine, The University of Adelaide, Glen Osmond, SA 5064, Australia

Go to article:
Accepted 12 June 2003.

Expression of defense-associated genes was analyzed in leaf tissues of near-isogenic resistant and susceptible barley cultivars upon infection by Rhynchosporium secalis. The genes encoding pathogenesis-related (PR) proteins PR-1, PR-5, and PR-9 are specifically expressed in the mesophyll of resistant plants, whereas a germin-like protein (OxOLP) is synthesized in the epidermis irrespective of the resistance genotype. Restriction-mediated differential display was employed to identify additional epidermis-specific genes. This resulted in the detection of another PR gene, PR-10, along with a lipoxygenase gene, LoxA, and a gene of unknown function, pI2-4, which are specifically induced in the epidermis of resistant plants. The gene encoding a putative protease inhibitor, SD10, is preferentially but not exclusively expressed in the epidermis. The fungal avirulence gene product NIP1 triggers the induction of the four PR genes only. At least two additional elicitors, therefore, must be postulated, one for the unspecific induction of OxOLP and one for the resistance-specific induction of LoxA, pI2-4, and SD10. PR-10 expression can be assumed to be the consequence of NIP1 perception by epidermis cells. In contrast, gene expression in the mesophyll is likely to be triggered by an as yet unknown signal that appears to originate in the epidermis and that is strongly amplified in the mesophyll.

© 2003 The American Phytopathological Society