CONSTITUTION AMERICAN PHYTOPATHOLOGICAL SOCIETY, SOUTHERN DIVISION

(Amended February 9, 1982, February 2, 1987, February 3, 1998, January 30, 2001, February 6, 2011, February 18, 2018)

ARTICLE I

This Division shall be known as the American Phytopathological Society, Southern Division. The States of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas are included in the Southern Division.

ARTICLE II Membership and Dues

- Section 1. The Division shall consist of members of the American Phytopathological Society.
- **Section 2.** All persons not members of the American Phytopathological Society but interested in the study of plant diseases, shall be eligible for associate membership.
- **Section 3.** All graduate or undergraduate students interested in the study of plant pathology shall be eligible for student membership.
- **Section 4.** Applications for associate or student membership must be endorsed by at least one member of the Division.
- **Section 5.** Each member, associate member or student member shall pay annually such dues as the Division shall determine and shall have a vote in all matters pertaining to the Division.

ARTICLE III Officers

The officers of the Division shall consist of the President, President-Elect, Vice-President, Secretary-Treasurer, Divisional Forum Representative, and up to two Student/Postdoctoral Representatives. Their duties shall be those usually performed by such officers. The officers shall serve the following terms: President, President-Elect, and Vice-President - one year; Divisional Forum Representative – three year; Secretary-Treasurer - three years or until his/her successor is elected; and Student/Postdoctoral Representative – two years. The Executive Committee shall fill any vacancies occurring in the interim between elections.

The Executive Committee shall consist of the President, President-Elect, Vice-President, Secretary-Treasurer, Divisional Forum Representative, up to two Student/Postdoctoral Representatives, and the Immediate Past President. All actions of the Executive Committee or officers will conform with the Constitution, By-Laws, and Manual of Operations.

ARTICLE IV Election of Officers

The Vice-President, Divisional Forum Representative, and the Student/Postdoctoral Representative(s) shall be elected by ballot. The Secretary-Treasurer shall send out a call for nominations to all members of the Southern Division, in time to allow nominations to be returned not less than two months before the date of the annual meeting (Vice-President and Divisional Forum Representative) and not less than one month before the date of the annual meeting (Student/Postdoctoral Representative). The Executive Committee shall review the nominations and designate the nominees for any office when such nominations are wanting or are tied.

The names of the top two nominees (for each position) shall be placed on a final ballot. If only one nomination is finalized, a write-in option will be presented. Each nominee must accept the nomination before being placed on the ballot, and a person may only accept nomination for one position within an election cycle.

Ballots for election of Vice-President and Divisional Forum Representative, will be sent electronically to each Southern Division member not less than one month before the annual meeting. All current Southern Division members are eligible to vote.

The Student/Postdoctoral Representative nominees can be nominated by ANY Southern Division member. Ballots for election of Student/Postdoctoral Representative will be distributed and voted upon during the annual division meeting by Southern Division student/postdoctoral membership.

A plurality vote shall elect. In the event of a tie on the election ballot, all members attending the annual business meeting shall vote by secret ballot, and a plurality vote shall elect.

The President-Elect shall become President and the Vice-President shall become President-Elect upon completion of their terms of office as President-Elect and Vice-President, respectively. The Secretary-Treasurer shall be appointed by the Executive Committee for a term of three years. Student/Postdoctoral Representatives shall serve a term of two years. In the event of a mid-year vacancy, the Executive Committee shall appoint a replacement Student/Postdoctoral Representative.

ARTICLE V Committees

Temporary and standing committees may be appointed by the President and deliver their reports to the Division in the annual business meeting.

ARTICLE VI Meetings

Meetings shall be held annually unless prevented by a national emergency. The annual meetings will normally be held at a location chosen by the current Southern Division president. The annual meetings may be held in conjunction with the annual meetings of the American Phytopathological Society whenever that organization meets within the area of the Southern Division. However, the annual meetings of the Southern Division may be held with other organizations and additional special meetings may be held, provided that the time and place of such meetings are recommended by the Executive Committee and approved by a majority of members voting at the annual business meeting.

ARTICLE VII

The provisions of the By-Laws of the American Phytopathological Society pertaining to the organization and regulation of Divisions of the Society shall be followed in the operation of the Southern Division.

ARTICLE VIII Amendments

This Constitution may be amended at any Southern Division Annual Meeting or by mail and/or electronic ballot with the following provisions: any proposed amendment must be approved by the Executive Committee or be petitioned by at least 10% of the Regular Members; must be communicated in writing to all members eligible to vote at least one month before the Southern Division Annual Meeting or one month before the date for tallying the ballots; and must receive the affirmative votes of three-fourths of the members voting for approval.