## Greetings from Texas: The 88th Southern Division Meeting

The 88th meeting of the APS Southern Division was held February 6–7, 2011, at the Omni Hotel Bayfront Tower in Corpus Christi, TX, in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Southern Association of Agricultural Scientists. President-Elect **David Langston** coordinated the meeting program and local arrangements. Standing in for weather-delayed President **Boyd Padgett**, Langston welcomed the group of 69 attendees (30 of whom were students) who contributed 39 presentations to the program.

The meeting kicked off on Super Bowl Sunday with a symposium entitled "The fat and skinny on nematodes eating plants," presided over by Langston. Outstanding presentations were made by the invited speakers, who included **Don Dickson**, University of Florida; **Richard Davis**, USDA-ARS; **Brenda Ortiz**, Auburn University; and **Bob Kemerait**, University of Georgia (UGA).



Past President Bob Kemerait, University of Georgia, and Ashok Chanda, third-place winner of the division's Graduate Student Paper Competition.

The symposium was followed by a graduate student paper competition presided over by Past President Kemerait, who was joined on the judging panel by John Damicone, Augusto Joao, Kenny Seebold, and Jason Woodward. Sixteen students took part in this year's competition, with participants representing Louisiana State University (LSU), Mississippi State University, Oklahoma State University (OSU), Tarleton State University (TSU), Texas A&M University, the University of Arkansas, the University of Florida, and UGA. Bhabesh Dutta (UGA; advisor, Ron Wolcott) won first place for his presentation "Infestation of ovules by Acidovorax citrulli during pistil and pericarp invasion in developing watermelon fruit."



President-Elect David Langston accepts the gavel from outgoing President Boyd Padgett.

**Andrea Payne** (OSU; advisor **Damon Smith**) placed second for her presentation "Validation of a pecan scab prediction model using repeated measures logistic regression analysis."

**Ashok Chanda** (LSU; coadvisors **Zhiyuan Chen** and **Ray Schneider**) came in third for his presentation "The roles of light-induced proteins in the biosynthesis of cercosporin by *Cercospora kikuchii.*"

John Sherwood, APS president, addressed the group during its annual business meeting, providing the annual report on the state and activities of APS. Secretary-Treasurer Don Ferrin gave the membership, financial, and necrology reports for the division. Padgett presented travel awards to Dutta (UGA), Jennifer Miller (TSU), Payne (OSU), Bindu Poudel (University of Arkansas), and Hari Karki, Rebecca Melanson, Bishnu Shrestha, Nicole Ward, Washington da Silva, and Everlyne Wosula (LSU), and Jing Zhou



Past President Bob Kemerait congratulates Bhabesh Dutta, first-place winner of the division's Graduate Student Paper Competition.

(University of Arkansas). Following the reading of this year's resolutions by Seebold, the program came to a close with the passing of the gavel from outgoing President Padgett to President-Elect Langston, who adjourned the meeting until next year when we meet in Birmingham, AL.

This year's festivities concluded with a dinner social followed by the Southern Division DeBary Bowl emceed by **Tim** "Could You Be A Little More Specific" **Brenneman**. "Table 5," led by APS President Sherwood, took this year's honors in a closely contested battle.



Past President Bob Kemerait congratulates Andrea Payne, who won second place in the Graduate Student Paper Competition.

We wish to thank the corporate sponsors for their support of this year's meeting: AgraQuest, AMVAC, BASF, Brandt Consolidated, Dow AgroSciences, Gowan, Syngenta Crop Protection, United Phosphorous, Inc., and Valent U.S.A.

The officers for the Southern Division for 2011-2012 are Langston, UGA, president; Schneider, LSU AgCenter, president-elect; Woodward, Texas Tech University & Texas AgriLife Research and Extension, vice president; Padgett, LSU AgCenter, immediate past president; Brenneman, UGA, Southern Division Divisional Forum representative; and Ferrin, LSU AgCenter, secretary-treasurer.

To see the complete program, visit the Southern Division's website at www.apsnet.org/members/divisions/south/Pages/default.aspx.

