Ninety-Fifth Southern Division APS Meeting a Success!



The Southern Division (SD) of The American Phytopathological Society (APS) held its 95th annual meeting February 16–18, 2018, in Fayetteville, Arkansas. The meeting was attended by

approximately 100 people and consisted of a premeeting tour, welcome reception, student research competition sessions, poster session, symposium and technical sessions, career development workshop, and awards banquet.

The tour, cleverly named the "Fayettechill Tour," took participants to the University of Arkansas Department of Plant Pathology, Plant Health Clinic, and newly constructed Don Tyson Center for Agricultural Sciences. There, participants met with several faculty members to learn about their research programs and the ongoing work at the diagnostic laboratory.

The career development workshop led by Nicole Gauthier, University of Kentucky, with the assistance of a number of experts, was "Presentations 101," the third workshop in the Careers 101 Workshop series. The symposium "Recent Advances in Nematode Management" was organized by Travis Faske, SD-APS president. Symposium speakers included Patty Timper, USDA-ARS; Charlie Overstreet, Louisiana State University; Billy Crow, University of Florida; Kaitlyn Bissonnette, University of Missouri; and John Mueller, Clemson University.

One of the highlights of the SD meeting has always been the Graduate Student Research Competition. In keeping up with past years, this year's student competition did not disappoint! Thirty-one students from 12 universities, representing almost all the states within the SD, presented their research and competed in the competition. Kelsey F. Andersen, University of Florida, placed first in the competition for her presentation "Modeling Epidemics in Seed Systems to Guide Management Strategies: The Case of Sweetpotato in Northern Uganda." Maria Velez-Climent, University of Florida, placed second for her presentation "Multilocus Analysis and Fungicide Sensitivity Profiles of Colletotrichum spp. Causing Anthracnose on Southern Highbush Blueberry in Florida." John B. Ridenour, University of Arkansas, placed third for his presentation "Crp1 Drives Pre-Penetration Infectious Development via Regulation of Frq1 in the Maize Pathogen Cercospora zeae-maydis." Honorable mentions were awarded to Juliet E. Fultz Wilkes, Clemson University; Kathryn Haydon,



SD-APS leadership: Kevin Ong, 2017 SD-APS immediate past-president; Albert Culbreath, 2017 division forum representative, SD; Travis Faske, 2017 SD-APS president; Nick Dufault, 2017 SD-APS president-elect; Rebecca Melanson, 2017 SD secretary-treasurer; Kira Bowen, 2017 APS president-elect; Shaker Kousik, 2017 SD-APS vice president; Rodrigo Onofre, 2017 SD-APS graduate student representative; 2017 Tracy Hawk, 2018 SD-APS graduate student representative; and Michelle Oliveira, 2017 SD-APS graduate student representative. Not pictured: Trey Price, 2018 SDS-APS vice president. (Photo courtesy University of Arkansas, Division of Agriculture)

University of Arkansas; and **Rebecca R. Sweany**, Louisiana State University.

Twelve posters were presented at the meeting and judged by a defined rubric to identify the best one. **Michael Emerson**, University of Arkansas, placed first in the poster competition for his poster "Field Performance of Several Maturity Group IV and V Soybean Cultivars in a Root-Knot Nematode Infested Field." **Madison L. Cartwright**, Texas A&M, placed second for her poster "Differences in Fumonisin Levels Associated with Commercial Corn Hybrids and Advanced Breeding Lines."

Travel awards to attend the 2018 SD-APS meeting were presented to **Kelsey F. Andersen**, University of Florida; **Madison McCulloch**, University of Kentucky; **Michelle Souza Oliveira**, University of Florida; and **Shaun Stice**, University of Georgia.

The Southern Division's Outstanding Plant Pathologist award was given to **Katherine Stevenson**, University of Georgia. Dr. Stevenson is the first female recipient of this SD award.

Judging travel award applications, research presentations, and posters is no easy task, especially when so many are deserving of awards. Many thanks go out to our judges: Rebecca Barocco, University of Florida; Fulya Baysal-Gurel, Tennessee State University; Nicole Gauthier, University of Kentucky; Anthony Keinath, Clemson University; Shaker Kousik, USDA-ARS; Charlie Krasnow, Syngenta; Boyd Padgett, Louisiana State University; Mathews Paret, University of Florida; Trey Price, Louisiana State University; John Rupe, University of

Arkansas; **Raghuwinder Singh**, Louisiana State University; and **Heather Kelly Young**, University of Tennessee.

Many thanks also go to **Rick Cartwright**, Associate Vice President for Agriculture— Extension and Director, University of Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service, for welcoming everyone to Fayetteville, and to **Kira Bowen**, APS president-elect, for presenting an update from APS Council.

At the end of the meeting, the SD-APS Executive Committee officers transitioned to their new duties as part of the 2018 Executive Committee: Travis Faske, University of Arkansas, immediate past-president; Nicholas **Dufault**, University of Florida, president; Shaker Kousik, USDA-ARS, presidentelect; and Trey Price, LSU AgCenter, vice-president. Albert Culbreath, University of Georgia, and Michelle Souza Oliveira, University of Florida, will continue on as SD forum representative and graduate student representative, respectively. Rebecca A. Melanson, Mississippi State University, was reappointed as secretary-treasurer for a 3-year term. Tracy Hawk, University of Arkansas, was elected to a 2-year term as the second graduate student representative. Recognition also goes to Kevin Ong, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension, and Rodrigo Borba Onofre, University of Florida, for their service as the 2017 SD-APS immediate past-president and 2017 graduate student representative, respectively.

We look forward to seeing regular attendees and invite others to join us for the 2019 SD-APS Meeting in Gainesville, Florida! ■

Phytopathology News June 2018 65