David G. Schmale III, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, dschmale@vt.edu

The 2008 Potomac Division Meeting was held March 26-28, 2008 at the Lakeview Inn and Conference Center in Morgantown, West Virginia. Attendance was around 75 people. The Program started on Wednesday, March 26 with a welcome from president Daniel Roberts, and the annual Industry-Extension-Emerging Problems Update cochaired by Anne DeMarsay and Steve Rideout. The Wednesday program concluded with a talk by **Robert Davis** titled "Phytoplasmas and spiroplasmas – shrinking genomes in an expanding universe." The program continued on March 27 with a welcome from Cameron Hackney, Dean, Davis College of Agriculture, West Virginia University, Morgantown, WV. Jay Norelli and Boris Vinatzer co-chaired a symposium titled "Molecular Evolution of Plant Pathogenic Bacteria," followed by the ten presentations by graduate students as part of the Graduate Student Competition chaired by Bill Bruckart. The final symposium of the day was "Excluding the Unknown Pathogen," co-chaired by Nina Shishkoff and Tim Widmer. The president of APS, Ray Martyn, concluded the formal session with a presentation titled 'What keeps council busy - An update from APS." The Poster Session/Social and Banquet concluded Thursday's program. social was sponsored by Acadian Agritech, Agraquest Inc., Arysta LifeScience North America, BASF Corporation, Bayer CropScience, Dow AgroSciences LLC, DuPont Crop Protection, FMC Corporation, and Syngenta Crop Protection. The meeting program continued on March 28 with a contributed papers session chaired by Kate Everts and a symposium titled "Organic Agriculture" chaired by James Kotcon. The meeting concluded with a tour of organic farming facilities at West Virginia University and a workshop by Michelle Wander titled "Workshop: eOrganic: Training for a new Online ExtensionInitiative." The 2008 Memorial Fund Student Travel Award went to Hannah Schrum, West Virginia University. First place in the Graduate Student Paper Competition was awarded to Jeneylyne Colcol, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. Hao Hu, Christine Coyle, and Shawn Kenaley received Honorable Mentions for their presentations. Mary Ann Hansen was elected Secretary-Treasurer for 2007-2008 and Chris Dardick was elected Vice-President. Resolutions were assembled and read by Mannon Gallegly and enjoyed by all. The gavel was presented to David Schmale III, the President for 2008-2009, by Dan Roberts.



Figure 1. Hannah Schrum (center) was the winner of the 2008 Memorial Fund Student Travel Award. Daniel Roberts (right) and David Schmale III (left) presented the award.



Figure 2. Jeneylyne Colcol was the first place winner of the 2008 APS Potomac Division Graduate Student Paper Competition. Daniel Roberts (right) and David Schmale III (left) presented the award.



Figure 3. Nancy Gregory (left), Sandra Mathioni (center), and Sridhara Kunjeti (right) enjoy a lively conversation during the poster session and social on Thursday night.



Figure 4. Mannon Gallegly (right) shows Christine Coyle (left) a few moves on the dance floor following the banquet.