Northeastern Division Annual Meeting

Russell Tweddell, APS Northeastern Division Vice President, Université Laval, <u>russell.tweddell@fsaa.ulaval.ca</u>

The Northeastern Division (NED) of APS held its 69th annual meeting October 28-30 2009 at Hotel Palace Royal in Quebec City (QC, Canada). **Russell Tweddell** (Université Laval) assisted by **Danny Rioux** (Canadian Forest Service), **Benjamin Mimee** (Université Laval), **Tyler Avis** (Carleton University), and **Gaston Laflamme** (Canadian Forest Service) handled local arrangements for a meeting that hosted 70 registrants. The program began on Wednesday (October 28) afternoon with an informal discussion of applied plant pathology during the extension/industry meeting presided by **Andrew Wyenandt** (Rutgers University). Attendees also had the option of a tour of Old Quebec or a Forest Pathology tour. The evening social focused around a cocktail, music, and an exciting Plant Pathology Jeopardy competition organized by **Margery Daughtrey** (Cornell University) and **Jim LaMondia** (Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station).

The Symposia on Plant Defense Mechanisms (Thursday morning) and on Breeding for Improved Disease Resistance in Plants (Friday morning) were organized by Andrew Wyenandt and Danny Rioux. Presentations were given by invited speakers: Richard Bélanger (Université Laval) on "The mechanisms of silicon-induced disease resistance", Kamal Bouarab (Université de Sherbrooke) on "Elicitation and suppression of plant immunity", Armand Séguin (Canadian Forest Service) on "Will the poplar-rust pathosystem become a model in molecular forest pathology?", Danny Rioux on "Structural defense mechanisms in trees: what's new?", Stacy Bonos (Rutgers University) on "Fifty years of breeding for disease resistance in turfgrasses: Where we've been and where we're going", Marie-Josée Mottet (Direction de la recherche forestière, Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune) on "Breeding hybrid poplar to improve resistance to Septoria musiva in Québec", and Philippe Tanguay (Canadian Forest Service) on "Breeding strategy for improving resistance to white pine blister rust (Cronartium ribicola)". Twenty-six contributed papers were presented including nine entered into the Graduate Student Competition, which was coordinated by Robert Marra (Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station). Joseph Roberts (Rutgers University) won the "Graduate Student Presentation Award" with his presentation entitled "Summer N-fertilization effects on annual bluegrass putting green turf".

On Thursday (October 29) evening, the banquet was attended by 62 persons who were welcomed by APS President **Barbara Christ** (Penn State University) and NED President **Jim LaMondia**. During the banquet, the Division presented the *Early Career Achievement Award* to **Stacy Bonos** and the *Award of Merit* to **Richard Bélanger** and **George Abawi** (Cornell University). At the end of the banquet, NED President **Jim LaMondia** passed the American chestnut gavel to **Norman Lalancette** (Rutgers University). The NED officers for 2009-2010 are **Norman Lalancette**, President; **Russell Tweddell**, Vice President; **Beth Gugino** (Penn State University), Secretary/Treasurer; **Wade Elmer** (Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station), Division Councilor; and **Jim LaMondia**, Immediate Past President. In 2010, the NED annual meeting will be held in Northampton (MA).



NED Forest Pathology Tour participants



Joseph Roberts (right) receives the *Graduate Student Presentation Award* from Robert Marra.



Stacy Bonos (center) receives the *Early Career Achievement Award* from Jim LaMondia (left) and Bruce Clarke (Rutgers University).



George Abawi (right) receives the *Award of Merit* from Jim LaMondia.



Richard Bélanger (right) receives the *Award of Merit* from Pierre-Mathieu Charest (Université Laval).



Northeastern Division President-Elect Norman Lalancette (right) receives the American chestnut gavel from current president Jim LaMondia.