Division News

APS North Central Division Meets in Nebraska

Loren J. Giesler, North Central Division Secretary-Treasurer, lgiesler@unlnotes.unl.edu

The 63rd annual meeting of the APS North Central Division, hosted by the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, met at the DoubleTree Hotel in Omaha, NE, June 15–17, 2011. Meeting attendees were provided a very thorough symposium entitled "Water for Food Initiative: The Role of Plant Pathology in Managing Crop Production in Reduced Water Environments." This was followed by a poster session, student presentations, and an evening banquet. Fifteen students within the North Central Division received travel awards to offset costs of attending the meeting this year. Students were nominated by their department to attend the meeting.

The prestigious North Central Division Distinguished Service Award was presented to **Berlin Nelson**, North Dakota State University, at the evening banquet. Nelson was honored with this award for his significant contribution to the region in *Sclerotinia* and other fungal diseases that he has researched throughout his career. Six graduate students received either an award for their poster or oral presentations. Oral presentation winners were **Kevin Korus** (University of Nebraska-Lincoln [UNL])—first place (\$300); **Luisa Castiblanco** (Michigan State University [MSU])—second place (\$200); and **Ryan Shelby** (University of Illinois)—third place (\$100). Winners of the poster competition were **Justin McMechan** (UNL)—first place (\$300); **Rodrigo Werle** (UNL)—second place (\$200), and **Kim Lesniak** (MSU)—third place (\$100).

The 2012 meeting of the North Central Division will be hosted by The Ohio State University and held at the Shishler Conference Center on the OARDC Campus in Wooster, OH, June 13–15, 2012. ■



Berlin Nelson, recipient of the Distinguished Service Award, pictured with North Central Division President Deanna Funnell-Harris.



Poster competition winners at the North Central Division meeting.



Oral paper competition winners at the North Central Division meeting.



Student travel awards were granted to Scott Koenig and Nathan Stetzel (Purdue University); Guirong Zhang and Ryan Shelby (University of Illinois); Cristian Quispe and Oscar Perez-Hernandez (University of Nebraska-Lincoln); Jaimin Patel and Gazala Ameen (North Dakota State University); Yuba Kandel and Prabin Tamang (South Dakota State University); Luisa Castiblanco and Caleb Knepper (Michigan State University); Derrick Mayfield and David Hessel (Iowa State University); and Amber Hoffstetter (The Ohio State University).