APS North Central Division meets in North Dakota

Loren Giesler, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

The 58th annual meeting of the APS North Central Division, hosted by North Dakota State University, met at the Holiday Inn Conference Center in Fargo, ND from June 13-15, 2006. Meeting attendees were provided with a very thorough mini symposium entitled "Merging Old and New Technologies: Screening for Disease Resistance". Speakers at the symposium included **Dr. Daryl Somers** (Agri-Food Canada, Winnipeg, MB), **Dr. David Douches** (Michigan State University), **Dr. Brian Diers** (University of Illinois), and **Dr. Phil Miklas** (USDA-ARS, Prosser, WA). This was followed by a poster session, student presentations, and an evening awards banquet. Nine students within the North Central Division received travel awards to offset costs in attending the meeting this year. Students were nominated by their department to attend the meeting.

The prestigious North Central Division Distinguished Service Award was presented to **Dr. Doug Jardine**, Kansas State University, at the evening banquet held at the Fargo Air Museum. Six graduate students received either an award for their poster or oral presentation in this year's competition. Winners of the poster competition were:

Third place: **Santiago Mideros**, Ohio State University, "Cytological study of the expression of soybean partial resistance, *Rps*2, root resistance to *Phytophthora sojae*. By S. Mideros and A.E. Dorrance."

Second place: **Teresa Hughes**, University of Wisconsin, "Molecular quantification of *Phialophora gregata* genotypes A and B in plant and soil samples. By T.J. Hughes, Z.K. Atallah, and C.R. Grau."

First place: **William Rittenour**, University of Nebraska, "The role of cell surface organization in the pathogenicity of *Fusarium graminearum*. By W.R. Rittenour and S.D. Harris."

Winners of the oral presentation competition were:

Third place: **Kiersten Wise**, North Dakota State University, "Sensitivity of *Ascochyta rabiei* baseline isolates to azoxystrobin, pyraclostrobin, and boscalid. By K.A. Wise, C.A. Bradley, F.M. Dugan, and W. Chen."

Second Place: **Lindsay Triplett**, Michigan State University, "Genetic differences among blight-causing *Erwinia* species with differing host specificities. By L.R. Triplett, Y. Zhao, and G.W. Sundin."

First Place: **Kirk Broders**, Ohio State University, "Evaluation of *Pythium* spp. associated with corn and soybean seed and seedling disease in Ohio. By K.D. Broders, P.E. Lipps, and A.E. Dorrance."



Poster Winners:

Graduate student poster award winners (L to R): William Rittenour (Univ. of Nebraska), Teresa Hughes (Univ. of Wisconsin), and Santiago Mideros (Ohio St. Univ.).



Oral Winners:

Graduate student oral presentation award winners (L to R): Kirk Broders (Ohio St. Univ.), Lindsay Triplett (Michigan St. Univ.), and Kiersten Wise (North Dakota St. Univ.).



Travel Award Winners:

Student travel award winners (L to R): Santiago Mideros (Ohio State Univ.), Angelique Peltier (Univ. of Wisconsin), Brad Ruden (South Dakota St. Univ.), Teresa Hughes (Univ. of Wisconsin), Kirk Broders (Ohio St. Univ.), Lindsay Triplett (Michigan St. Univ.), Emmanuel Byamaukama (Iowa St. Univ.), Ann Impullitti (Univ. of Minnesota), and William Rittenour (Univ. of Nebraska).



Distinguished Service Award:

North Central Division Distinguished Service Award Winner Doug Jardine, Kansas St. Univ. (Center) with Division Counselor Ray Hammerschmidt, Michigan St. Univ. (Left) and Division President Carl Bradley, North Dakota St. Univ. (Right).



Attendees of the 2006 North Central Division Meeting held in Fargo, ND.